Writing Motivation; or Lack Thereof

You’ve worked all day. You’re tired, hungry, and aggravated. You need to do about 100 things and yet all you want to do is take a nap.

So what motivates you to keep writing? Do you decide it’s something that you do no matter what and type out the required 1000 words a day, knowing they’re crap and probably going to bite it during editing? Wouldn’t it be easier to say, “Screw it tonight” and wonder later why it’s taking you so long to finish you next book? Or is it something different all together?

I wish I had some magic formula that worked for everyone when you are too tired, stressed, depressed (pick and adjective) to write. At this moment I’m frustrated, angry, and determined–all at the same time. So what do I do? I write.

The only way I can stop from throwing my computer through an open window is to sit down and write. I might not write about what’s bothering me, but I have to write something. It’s my stress reliever. I find that when I’m in one of these moods my writing tends to flow better and faster. I get more accomplished and tend to need less editing and re-writes done when I’m writing to relieve stress.

So what else stops you from writing? You work all day and you want to relax. So writing doesn’t relax you? Why? Are you under a deadline for your novel, article, novella? Maybe you’re a deadline writer. You write better under the pressure of a set deadline. Give yourself a deadline and stick with it. Post it on Facebook, Twitter, your blog, website, whatever, so that others hold you accountable. Pressure yourself.

I know I’m not the world’s best author. But I’m not bad either. 🙂 I write for me and let the chips fall where they may. That works for me.

Okay, vent over. Gee, I feel better!

 

Tagged: , , , , , , ,

4 thoughts on “Writing Motivation; or Lack Thereof

  1. Acid Free Pulp February 23, 2013 at 2:01 am Reply

    I definitely use stress and tiredness as my #1 excuse/block. Although, I know if I’m not going to be as productive as I would like to be that day, even just handwriting a few sentences, some ideas, or plot sketch can be beneficial and make me not feel behind.

  2. bobbiebandy February 23, 2013 at 2:40 am Reply

    Me too, Acid, especially tiredness.

    I like the idea of plot sketching. I’ll have to try that one. Thanks!

  3. Acid Free Pulp February 23, 2013 at 2:49 am Reply

    I hope it’s helpful! Writing by hand can definitely make your brain and imagination think differently and I find that my thoughts can become clearer by writing in a notebook opposed to always typing.

  4. bobbiebandy February 23, 2013 at 3:01 am Reply

    Great ideas, thank you!

Leave a Reply

